#BodyTalk

To read more, subscribe to #Greetings30

***

What a happy, little tampon!

Most things don’t gross me out. Perhaps it’s because I’m the daughter of a nurse- I remember one time my dad showed my sisters and I cell phone pictures of a little boy’s bowel movements. When I lived with my old roommate then in med school (now a doctor), I was delighted when she shared stories of her carving up a cadaver. To me, bodies and what they do are fascinating, not unmentionable. So, why don’t we talk about natural occurrences like menstrual cycles?

Earlier this week, Chinese swimmer, Fu Yuanhui, made headlines when she announced that she was on her period, breaking the  silence about menstruation. While China is becoming more accepting of the natural occurrence, one would think that the US of A would be a little bit more progressive, especially since half of our population has or will experience their period. But as I read comments on multiple sites about Yuanhui’s post -wim interview, I realized that wasn’t the case. Especially with men.

Even in relationships, I found that talking about menstruation was taboo. In the past, I’ve had boyfriends who promised the world to me but still refused to buy me tampons. Female lawmakers in multiple states are trying to lift the tax on tampons but are being struck down by their male counterparts. Allegedly when Yuanhui was in the pool, several male critics claimed that swimming while menstruating was unhygienic and unhealthy.

I’ve been trying to figure out why talking about menstruation is so shameful even when sex runs rampid throughout our media. Sex is what we see and talk about every day. Society oogles breasts, whose primary function is for feeding. We cracked jokes about both male and female anatomy without a second thought. We need to stop looking at our bodies and our sexual behavior as something embarrassing and scandalous., when our bodies are as natural as water and air.

I hope to see the day where women, all around the world, aren’t shunned for having a period. Women’s bodies deserve more respect and appreciation- your mom, your sister, your friend, your significant other- all deserve better. And you, male reader, will totally get points with me if you purchase me some Tampax.

Leave a Reply

