Be a Doer, Not a Dreamer

  • Get my driver’s license by the end of the summer
  • Make a short film with my friends
  • Go skydiving with my boyfriend
  • Finish hand sewing a quilt before it gets too cold outside
  • Send out pitches to international magazines
  • Learn how to do a move seen in an episode of “Buffy the Vampire Slayer”
  • Host a fancy dinner party where I cook for hours and hours to feed friends’ bellies

These are some of the things that I’ve wanted to do lately but just haven’t had the time to do so. But then I spent some nights, wake in my bed, thinking about the great things I could be doing right now, right at this moment (perhaps those late night think fests are one of the reasons I’m so tired a good chunk of the time). I’ve been using a lot of excuses lately- I have no time. I have no money. I work too much, need to sleep. All that is such bullshit.

In this graduation season, I listened to two really good speeches- one by Shondra Rhimes delivered at Dartmouth College and the other by Jim Carey at Maharishi University of Management in Iowa. Both speeches had stellar advice (one- about not being an asshole and two- the illusion of having it all) but they both focused on one central theme: Doing, not dreaming.

“Dreams are lovely. But they don’t come true just by dreaming. Ditch the dream; ditch that blue sky dream. Be a doer. Do something until you can do something else.”

“You can spend your whole life swatting away ghosts, scared of the future… You can fail at what you don’t want. So you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.”

My life is full- there is lots of love, positivity and satification- but sometimes, I think it could have just a bit more. Like, what would happen if I didn’t spend so much time on Facebook or Reddit? What would happen if I put all the self-doubt aside; all the negative outer judgment from others? How much could I get done if I managed my time better; budgeted my finances better? A whole lot of things would happen. In my last post, I wrote about legacy and what I’m doing to better the world. But what about the legacy I want to leave and live for myself? Those stories I can tell the grandchildren when I’m all wrinkly? Those moments I’m especially proud of and hold in the deepest corners of my memory? Those are the things that I want to do and focus on- not on a stinkin’ Facebook post. I want to come home at the end of the day so exhausted from being incredibly busy (and not just busy because I spent six hours online shopping). I want to mobile and see different things and meet new people. I want to have memory cards filled with photos of adventures. I want to live. So, I’ll be doing so.

It’s time to start doing not sit around in my room, dreaming. There is a bucket list waiting. There is a life waiting.

So, dear reader, if you don’t hear from me in a while…

You got this, A! Go kick some ass!

You got this, A! Go kick some ass!

Leave a Reply

