Don’t let Them get YOU Down!

I love my parents but last night, we had a conversation that seriously peeved me. We spoke about the next couple years and they asked me if I had a five-year plan. I explained to them my desire to finish school, move back to New York City to find a magazine job and move to South Africa once I’m thirty to live and volunteer for a year. They were taken back with my planned details and told me to think of more realistic things to achieve. I was heartbroken.

I never wanted to be the one sitting at a cubicle desk for the rest of life. I like moving around to various cities and exploring little holes-in-the-wall. I’ve always wanted to write for big publications. I’ve always wanted to live an extraordinary different life. My parents do have the best intentions for me but they don’t see my big picture- what my dreams and my passions and my life goals are. I went online and found pieces of advice that are helpful to people me who need a little push to break from the herd and follow their on path…

1. You can follow your dreams someday, but right now you need to buckle down and be responsible. When is “someday?” “Someday” is not a day at all. Today is the only day guaranteed to you. Today is the only day you can begin to make a difference in your life and pursuing your dreams is what life is all about. Make today, not someday, the first day of the rest of your new life.

2. You’re totally screwed if it doesn’t work out. You’re not even close to being screwed. In fact, the worst case scenario is that things don’t work out and you have to go back to doing exactly what you are doing right now.

3. It is safer to stay at your day job. You know what’s even safer than that? Going home, locking yourself in your bedroom and never coming out. Just like that, you will have flushed your entire life and your dreams down the toilet. Remember, safer doesn’t always mean better.

4. That’s impossible! It’s only impossible if you never do anything about it. The reason certain things seem impossible is simply because nobody has achieved them yet. If you truly dedicate yourself to an end result, almost anything is possible. You just have to want it bad enough.

5. Only a lucky few “make it.” Those lucky few got off their bottoms and did something about it! They had the drive, determination and willpower that you have right now. You can be one of them!

6. You might fail and failing is bad. Failures are simply stepping stones to success. The biggest mistake you can make is doing nothing because you’re too scared to make a mistake. If you can’t handle failure, then you can’t handle success either.

7. You don’t have access to the right resources. It’s not about having the right resources; it’s about exploiting the resources you do have access to. Stevie Wonder couldn’t see, so he exploited his sense of hearing into a passion for music, and he now has twenty-five Grammy Awards to prove it. Get it?

8. You need more money saved before you can take the first step. You don’t need more money. You need a plan. You need a budget. If pursuing your dream requires you to leave your day job, figure out the absolute minimum amount of income that you realistically require to live. Take baby steps. Ask yourself, “What actions can I take right now with the money and resources I have right now that will bring me closer to desired goal?”

9. You don’t need any help. It’s smarter to go after it alone. Find your tribe and work together to make a difference in all of your lives.

10. That sounds like a lot of hard work. Find hard work you love doing. As long as you remain true to yourself and follow your own interests, values, and dreams, you can find success through passion. Perhaps most importantly, you won’t wake up a few years from now working in a career field you despise, wondering how the heck am I going to do this for the next thirty years? So if you catch yourself working hard and loving every minute of it, don’t stop. You’re onto something big. Because hard work isn’t hard when you concentrate on your passions and dreams.

For more inspirational list and words of advice, please visit www.marcandangel.com.

Leave a Reply

